Is the Governator returning to acting?

Image Credit: guardian.co.uk

Arnold Schwarzenegger is no longer the governor of California, so what is his next career move? Why, returning to acting of course! In a Tweet posted last Thursday, Schwarzenegger wrote:

“Exciting news. My friends at CAA have been asking me for 7 years when they can take offers seriously. Gave them the green light today.”

Schwarzenegger’s personal aide, Daniel Ketchell, confirmed the Tweet last Friday morning, according to an article in USA Today. The former governor hasn’t starred in a movie since 2003’s “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines,” although he did have a cameo in last years Sylvester Stallone vehicle “The Expendables.”

After leaving California with an estimated $25 billion deficit, Schwarzenegger seems quite content with returning to his old career.

Now, I love me some Schwarzenegger action movies. Whether it’s “True Lies,” “Terminator 2: Judgment Day,”  “Predator,” or even “Eraser,” he has never really failed to entertain me in his films. But is the public ready for another Schwarzenegger film? Or, possibly, another Schwarzenegger-centric “Terminator” film?

Image Credit: TriStar Pictures

Honestly, I don’t think I’ve heard a single positive thing about Schwarzenegger’s acting (or political) career since he became governor of California back in 2003. I would definitely go see him in another film, but I can’t think of even five of my friends that would want to see it.

Also, his return to acting was announced via Tweet. I understand that Twitter is becoming the new way to communicate to people in this Digital Age, but if he wants more support from his fan base (if he still has one anymore) he is going to have to do a little bit more to win over their affection.

I just don’t think that a Tweet is enough. After all, how much information can a 140-character sentence really say? I expect a lot of ridicule from the media about his desire to return to acting, like this article in the LA Times.

I think Schwarzenegger needs to do something to communicate more effectively with people. I feel like he has become a joke to most audiences today and either he or his representatives needs to create some kind of image campaign to show everyone that he isn’t a complete failure at life like some people seem to think he is.

More importantly, if he is truly to return to acting, it needs to be in either a) a legitimately good movie, or b) a wild shoot-’em-up action movie. What say you readers? Do you want to go see another movie starring Ah-nuld?  Or would you rather not see him at all?

One response to “Is the Governator returning to acting?

  1. You really have to appreciate Arnold for what he’s done to open up the world of politics to former action stars. The possibility that Chuck Norris could one day replace Rick Perry is almost enough to make me never want to leave Texas. Ha!! But I do have to say… Arnold’s cameo in the Expendables was AWESOME. I think he will always have a strong fan base just because of the classics but he’s a little too old to be doing the same old action-packed, superhuman parts. I guess I’m torn though, because the Expendables was awesome exactly because it was full of old guys kickin’ ass.

    It also might be hard for him to separate himself from his political reputation after so many years in office. Twitter is just about as unprofessional as you can get, so maybe that’ll actually help him with that. Personally I don’t think I’ll ever watch another of his movies without thinking of that $25 billion deficit, so there’s that. FAIL Ah-nuld…major FAIL.

Leave a Reply

